November 1, 2011 News

Twenty-Four Students Receive Research Travel Awards

To highlight the research activities of student scientists and encourage research careers in communication sciences and disorders, ASHA offers the Student Research Travel Award (SRTA). The awards go to the student who is the first author on the top-rated research presentation in each of the 24 Convention topic areas.

The students (undergraduates to PhD candidates) receive $500 toward travel expenses and are recognized at the Researcher-Academic Town Meeting and other designated Convention events.

The following students will receive awards:

  • Jennifer L. Bozard, Medical University of South Carolina (Research Issues Across the Discipline)
  • Jennifer Brown, Florida State University (Autism Spectrum Disorders)
  • Sally Carlson, Portland State University (International Issues and Practices Across the Discipline)
  • Lynne Christofaris, University of Cincinnati (Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Communication Science and Disorders)
  • Meghan Darling, Purdue University (Motor Speech in Adults and Children)
  • Cheryl Gilliam, Eastern Michigan University (Infant Hearing: Screening and Assessment)
  • Kristine Holzer, Idaho State University (Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders)
  • Jenya Iuzzini, Indiana University (Speech Sound Disorders in Children)
  • Abdullah Jamos, Missouri State University (Neuro-audiology and [Central] Auditory Processing Disorder)
  • Tobias A. Kroll, University of Louisiana at Lafayette (Intervention/Rehabilitation for Adults With Hearing Loss)
  • Jiyeon Lee, Northwestern University (Language Disorders in Adults)
  • Megan MacPherson, Purdue University (Fluency)
  • Emily Marturana, Florida State University (Language in Infants, Toddlers, and Preschoolers)
  • Katherine A. McCoy, Indiana University (Language Science)
  • Emily McFadd, University of Wisconsin–Madison (Augmentative and Alternative Communication)
  • Natalia Morozova, Long Island University (Adult Hearing Assessment)
  • Jagadeesh Rajagopalan, Wichita State University (Academic and Educational Issues)
  • Ekaterina Smyk, Arizona State University (Issues in Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Populations)
  • Abigail Stellmacher, University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire (Business, Management, and Professional Issues)
  • Madhu Sundarrajan, University of Texas at Dallas (Intervention/Habilitation for Infants and Children With Hearing Loss)
  • Ashley Terlingo, Temple University (Language and Learning in School-Age Children and Adolescents)
  • Stacey Trepanier, University of Arizona (Hearing Science)
  • Aaron Ziegler, University of Pittsburgh (Voice, Resonance, and Alaryngeal Speech)
  • Emily Zimmerman, University of Kansas (Speech Science)

For more information, including the title of each student’s presentation, visit ASHA's SRTA webpage.  


Advertise With UsAdvertisement