August 2, 2011 Features

Convention: Awards Recognize Outstanding Achievements

In its annual tribute to leaders in communication sciences and disorders, ASHA will recognize outstanding contributions and achievements at the 2011 Awards Ceremony on Fri., Nov. 18, from 6:30 to 8 p.m.

Screenwriter David Seidler, who won an Academy Award for the film "The King's Speech," will receive the esteemed Annie Glenn Award (see The ASHA Leader, June 5, 2011).

Honors and Fellows 

A highlight of the ceremony is the presentation of the Honors of the Association to eight ASHA members. ASHA's most prestigious award, which recognizes a lifetime record of exceptional achievement, will be presented to Robert F. Burkard, Mary Elbert, Marc E. Fey, Robert E. Hillman, Jack Katz, Gloria Dodwell Kellum, Paul R. Kileny, and Nickola Wolf Nelson. More information on their accomplishments will appear in the Nov. 1 issue of The ASHA Leader.

The title of ASHA Fellow will be bestowed on 25 members in recognition of outstanding contributions to the professions: Julie M. Barkmeier-Kraemer, Alejandro Brice, Stephanie K. Daniels, Luc De Nil, Monica Ferguson, Jordan R. Green, Carlin F. Hageman, Mary U. Hooper, Ella Ruth Inglebret, Sherri M. Jones, Zane LaCroix, Elaine Ledwon-Robinson, Julie M. Liss, Betty McMicken, Florence L. Myers, Janet P. Patterson, Paula M. Rhyner, Carole R. Roth, Mona R. Ryan, Diane L. Sabo, Robert S. Schlauch, Roy Shinn, Maureen Staskowski, Kathy H. Strattman, and Susan Thibeault.

Other awards to be presented include the Dorothy Dreyer Award for Volunteerism, Outstanding Service Award, Kawana Award for Lifetime Achievement in Publications, Editors' Awards, The ASHA Leader Awards, and Early Career Contributions in Research Award. Certificates of recognition for special contributions will be presented in the areas of multicultural affairs, higher education, and international achievement. ASHA also will present the (nonmember) Distinguished Service Award and Media Awards.

The National Student Speech Language Hearing Association and the American Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation also will present awards.

A full listing of award winners will appear in the Nov. 1 issue of The ASHA Leader. 

Annie Award

"We expect and hope that that Sen. and Mrs. Glenn will be able to join us at the ASHA Convention to present the Annie Award," Paul Rao, ASHA president, said. "The 'Annie' is ASHA's Oscar, and each year our membership recognizes someone who exemplifies the distinction, courage, and quiet charisma of Mrs. Glenn. David Seidler grew up with the same communication disorder as Mrs. Glenn. Both conquered stuttering and use their fluency to advocate for others with disabilities."

The first "Annie" was presented to James Earl Jones in 1987. Other recipients, all of whom demonstrate tremendous personal strength and use that strength to benefit others, include Vice President Joe Biden, Julie Andrews, Bob and Lee Woodruff, Mick Fleetwood, Jane Seymour, and Bob Love.

Carol Polovoy, assistant managing editor of The ASHA Leader, can be reached at

cite as: Polovoy, C. (2011, August 02). Convention: Awards Recognize Outstanding Achievements. The ASHA Leader.


Advertise With UsAdvertisement