October 12, 2010 Features

Minority Student Leadership Program Announces 2010 Class

Thirty-three students will participate in the 2010 Minority Student Leadership Program (MSLP), held Nov. 16–21 before and during the ASHA Convention in Philadelphia.

MSLP is a leadership development program designed to recruit and retain racial and ethnic minorities that have been historically under-represented in communication sciences and disorders (CSD). It enrolls CSD undergraduate seniors and master's students, AuD students, and PhD students pursuing a CSD-related research doctoral degree.

MSLP members participate in focused educational programming and activities that build and enhance leadership skills, gain an understanding of how the association works, and interact with leaders in audiology, speech-language pathology, and speech, language, and hearing sciences. Students chosen for the program receive Convention registration, lodging, program materials, and a stipend to help cover other expenses.

Members of the 2010 MSLP class include:


April Anderson, Louisiana State University

Khadra Haro, Washington State University

Faith Purnell, Portland State University

Adrian Ramirez, Texas A&M University–Kingsville

Anna-Alyse Tellez, University of Arizona

Anthony Zepeda, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

First-Year Master's

Melissa Boone, Marquette University

Yvonne Katsuyama, California State University–Sacramento

Sarah Panjwani, University of Houston

Vanessa Rodriguez, University of Rhode Island

Jessica Wilcoxson, Calvin College

Second-Year Master's

Gernise Dixon, Governors State University

Irene Duong, University of Minnesota

Ana Garay, California State University, Long Beach

Norma Gonzalez, University of the Pacific

Candice Greenwood, California State University, Long Beach

Jessica Gutierrez, University of Redlands

Youngmee Hahn, Syracuse University

Reyna Hernandez, Texas Woman's University

Anastasia Johnson, Kean University

Hingkui John Lee, Kean University

Cameron McCurty, Nazareth College

Jacqueline Ortiz, California State University, Los Angeles

Xigrid Soto, University of South Florida

Cherina Williams, University of West Georgia

Christine Williams, Vanderbilt University

AuD Students

Kristi Anderson, Louisiana Tech University

Ilia Fong, Gallaudet University

Abdullah Jamos, Missouri State University

Patricia Mazzullo, CUNY Graduate Center

PhD Students

Jongmin Jung, Purdue University

Gayatri Ram, Ohio University

Sofia Souto, Indiana University


Advertise With UsAdvertisement