ASHA's State Medicare Administrative Contractor (SMAC) Network

Problem: Medicare doesn't notify us until after they change a local policy

Solution: ASHA Members in Action! Learn how the State Medicare Administrative Contractor (SMAC) Network can help you!

State Advocacy Networks - smacsWhat is the SMAC Network?

The mission of the State Medicare Administrative Contractor (SMAC) Network is to enhance and perpetuate the advocacy, leadership, and communication of ASHA members at the state level to influence administrative and public policy decisions that impact Medicare coverage and reimbursement of audiology and speech-language pathology services.

What do SMAC Network participants do?

SMAC Network participants are appointed by ASHA recognized state speech-language-hearing associations. They advocate for Medicare coverage and reimbursement of audiology and speech-language pathology services in the states.

The SMAC representative is responsible for establishing or enhancing effective links to medical directors, consultants, and key personnel with

  • Medicare administrative contractors (MACs),
  • Medicare regional office officials,
  • state health agencies (certify Medicare facilities)
  • consumer groups,
  • and other related professionals.

How can the SMAC Network help me?

SMAC representatives serve as a resource to fellow audiologists and speech-language pathologists regarding compliance with local and national Medicare coverage and payment policies. Getting in touch with them is easy! Just find your state's representative(s) below and send them an e-mail with your questions or concerns. If your state does not have a representative, e-mail reimbursement@asha.org instead.

How can I get involved?

For more information on becoming a representative to the SMAC Network, contact Lisa Satterfield, ASHA's Director of Health Care Regulatory Advocacy, at 800-498-2071, ext. 5671 or lsatterfield@asha.org.

Additional Resources

State Medicare Administrative Contractor Network Roster

Alabama
No representative

Alaska
Anne Ver Hoef (SLP)
annev@gci.net

Arizona
Lisa Naylor (SLP)
lisaannnaylor@gmail.com

Arkansas
Monica Scott (SLP)
monica1SLP@hotmail.com

California
Kathleen Catterall (SLP)
Kathleen.Catterall@sharp.com

Colorado
No representative

Connecticut
Katrina Woodward (SLP)
katrinawoodward@live.com

Delaware
No representative

District of Columbia
No representative

Florida
Celia Santini (SLP)
celiasantinics@gmail.com

Georgia
Paula Klingman-Palk (SLP)
paula.klingman-palk@emoryhealthcare.org

Hawaii
Kathleen Campbell (AUD)
katcam@hawaii.rr.com

Idaho
Maren Hollister (SLP)
mhollister@elksrehab.org

Illinois
Jordan Bowman (SLP)
jordanjanebowman838@gmail.com

Indiana
Susan Rockafellow (SLP)
srockafellow@hancockregional.org

Iowa
Paula Simon (SLP)
paulasimon@live.com

Kansas
Edward Schulte (SLP)
eschulte@caregiverskansas.com

Kentucky
Heather Marlow (SLP)
dhjmarlow@gmail.com

Louisiana
Emily Rampmaier
ebrampmaier@gmail.com

Donna Fitzgerald DeJean (SLP)
dfitzgeralddejean@cox.net

Maine
No representative

Maryland
Mary Casper (SLP)
mcasper@hcr-manorcare.com

Massachusetts
Jaime Bears (SLP)
Jaime.Bears@caritaschristi.org

Michigan
Tim Weise (SLP)
tweise@primehealthcare.com

Minnesota
Rebecca (Becky) Lulai (SLP)
lude0008@umn.edu

Mississippi
Yolanda Currie-Pope (SLP)
smac@mshausa.org

Missouri
Anna Campbell (SLP)
alcampbell@ucmo.edu

Montana
Carol Morse (SLP)
mumsey05@bresnan.net

Nebraska
Nikki Kopetzky (AUD)
nkopetzky@entspecialities.com

Jessica Thoene (SLP)
Jessica@alpharehab.com

Nevada
Megan Swank (AUD)
mswank@medicine.nevada.edu

Rachael Walden (SLP)
rmwalden@gmail.com

New Hampshire
No representative

New Jersey
Barbara Schwerin Bohus (SLP)
BSchwerinBohus@hackensackumc.org

New Mexico
Julie Borrego (SLP)
borrego.julie@yahoo.com

New York
Salvatore Gruttadauria (AUD/SLP)
salg@rehabwny.com

North Carolina
Susan Chapman (SLP)
susan.chapman@genesishcc.com

North Dakota
No representative

Ohio
Carol Hofbauer (SLP)
chofbauer@laurelhealth.com

Oklahoma
Teresa Bierig (SLP)
tabierig@yahoo.com

Oregon
Kathy de Domingo (SLP)
Kathy@progrehab.com

Jennifer Bills (SLP)
Jennifer@thespeechcenter.net

Pennsylvania
Joanne Wisely (SLP)
Joanne.Wisely@GenesisHCC.com

Rhode Island
Amy Porter-Wareham (SLP)
portamy@aol.com

South Carolina
Regina Lemmon (SLP)
lemmonly@gmail.com

South Dakota
Laura Barbera (SLP)
speechgirl@rushmore.com

Tennessee
Janet Avery (SLP)
jbanhcrehab@comcast.net

Texas
Katherine Hutcheson (SLP)
karnold@mdanderson.org

Lisa Milliken (SLP)
Lisamilliken26@yahoo.com

Utah
No representative

Vermont
Lakshmi Boyle (SLP)
Lakshmi.Boyle@vtmednet.org

Virginia
Sally Jones-McNamara (SLP)
sallyjmac@aol.com

Washington
Joan Jaeger (SLP)
Joan.Jaeger@nwhsea.org

West Virginia
No representative

Wisconsin
Jeanine Giacalone (SLP)
jeanine.giacalone@mjcare.com

Wyoming
No representative

The contact information was current at the time it was submitted to ASHA by the network representative.

Our Partners