American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

ASHA's State Medicare Administrative Contractor (SMAC) Network

State Advocacy Networks - smacsProblem: Medicare doesn't notify us until after they change a local policy

Solution: ASHA Members in Action! Learn how the State Medicare Administrative Contractor (SMAC) Network can help you!

What is the SMAC Network?

The mission of the State Medicare Administrative Contractor (SMAC) Network is to enhance and perpetuate the advocacy, leadership, and communication of ASHA members at the state level to influence administrative and public policy decisions that impact Medicare coverage and reimbursement of audiology and speech-language pathology services.

What do SMAC Network participants do?

SMAC Network participants are appointed by ASHA recognized state speech-language-hearing associations. They advocate for Medicare coverage and reimbursement of audiology and speech-language pathology services in the states.

The SMAC representative is responsible for establishing or enhancing effective links to medical directors, consultants, and key personnel with

  • Medicare administrative contractors (MACs),
  • Medicare regional office officials,
  • state health agencies (certify Medicare facilities)
  • consumer groups,
  • and other related professionals.

How can the SMAC Network help me?

SMAC representatives serve as a resource to fellow audiologists and speech-language pathologists regarding compliance with local and national Medicare coverage and payment policies. Getting in touch with them is easy! Just find your state's representative(s) below and send them an e-mail with your questions or concerns. If your state does not have a representative, e-mail reimbursement@asha.org instead.

How can I get involved?

For more information on becoming a representative to the SMAC Network, contact Lisa Satterfield, ASHA's Director of Health Care Regulatory Advocacy, at 800-498-2071, ext. 5671 or lsatterfield@asha.org.

Additional Resources


State Medicare Administrative Contractor Network Roster

Alabama
No representative

Alaska
Anne Ver Hoef (SLP)
annev@gci.net

Arizona
Lisa Naylor (SLP)
lisaannnaylor@gmail.com

Arkansas
Monica Scott (SLP)
monica1SLP@hotmail.com

California
Kathleen Catterall (SLP)
Kathleen.Catterall@sharp.com

Colorado
No representative

Connecticut
Katrina Woodward (SLP)
katrinatelke@hotmail.com

Delaware
No representative

District of Columbia
No representative

Florida
Lisa Rock (SLP)
lisa.rock@ebshealthcare.com

Tamara Spyker (SLP)
tspeech2@aol.com

Georgia
Paula Klingman-Palk (SLP)
paula.klingman-palk@emoryhealthcare.org

Hawaii
No representative

Idaho
Maren Hollister (SLP)
mhollister@elksrehab.org

Illinois
No representative

Indiana
Susan Rockafellow (SLP)
srockafellow@hancockregional.org

Iowa
Paula Simon (SLP)
paulasimon@live.com 

Kansas
Edward Schulte (SLP)
eschulte@midwest-health.com

Kentucky
Heather Marlow (SLP)
dhjmarlow@gmail.com

Louisiana
Lisa Milliken
Lisamilliken26@yahoo.com

Donna Fitzgerald DeJean (SLP)
dfitzgeralddejean@cox.net

Maine
No representative

Maryland
Mary Casper (SLP)
mcasper@hcr-manorcare.com

Massachusetts
Jaime Bears (SLP)
Jaime.Bears@caritaschristi.org

Michigan
Tim Weise (SLP)
tweise@gchosp.org

Minnesota
Rebecca (Becky) Lulai
lude0008@umn.edu

Ruth Schaefer (AUD)
rschaef@tds.net

Mississippi
Josephine Alston
Josie224@gmail.com

Missouri
Anna Campbell (SLP)
alcampbell@ucmo.edu

Montana
Carol Morse (SLP)
mumsey05@aol.com

Nebraska
Kristy Weissling (SLP)
kweissling2@unl.edu

Nevada
Megan Swank
mswank@medicine.nevada.edu

Rachael Walden
rmwalden@gmail.com

New Hampshire
No representative

New Jersey
Robert Woods (AUD)
rwwoodssha@cs.com

Barbara Schwerin Bohus (SLP)
BSchwerinBohus@hackensackumc.org

New Mexico
Julie Borrego (SLP)
borrego.julie@yahoo.com

New York
Salvatore Gruttadauria
salg@rehabwny.com

North Carolina
Susan Chapman
susan.chapman@genesishcc.com

North Dakota
No representative

Ohio
Carol Hofbauer (SLP)
chofbauer@laurelhealth.com

Oklahoma
Teresa Bierig (SLP)
tabierig@yahoo.com

Oregon
Kathy de Domingo
Kathy@progrehab.com

Jennifer Bills
Jennifer@thespeechcenter.net

Pennsylvania
Joanne Wisely (SLP)
Joanne.Wisely@GenesisHCC.com

Rhode Island
Amy Porter-Wareham (SLP)
portamy@aol.com

South Carolina
Regina Lemmon (SLP)
lemmonly@gmail.com

South Dakota
Laura Barbera (SLP)
speechgirl@rushmore.com

Tennessee
Janet Avery (SLP)
jbanhcrehab@comcast.net

Texas
Katherine Hutcheson (SLP)
karnold@mdanderson.org

Utah
No representative

Vermont
Lakshmi Boyle (SLP)
Lakshmi.Boyle@vtmednet.org

Virginia
Sally Jones-McNamara
sallyjmac@aol.com

Washington
Joan Jaeger (SLP)
Joan.Jaeger@nwhsea.org

West Virginia
No representative

Wisconsin
Sally Conway (SLP)
sallslp_2@hotmail.com

Patricia Willis (SLP)
pwillis@wi.rr.com

Wyoming
No representative

 

The contact information was current at the time it was submitted to ASHA by the network representative.

Share This Page

Print This Page