American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
November 23, 2011

11 States Seek Flexibility from NCLB Mandates

Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Tennessee have submitted to the U.S. Department of Education requests for waivers from key provisions of No Child Left Behind (NCLB). The states filed requests based on locally designed plans to implement college and career ready standards; develop rigorous accountability systems that include a focus on low-performing schools and schools with persistent achievement gaps; and create better systems for developing, supporting, and evaluating principals and teachers.

For more information, please see the entire press release on the Department of Education's website or contact Catherine D. Clarke, ASHA's director of education and regulatory advocacy, via e-mail at or by phone at 800-498-2071, ext. 5611.

Share This Page

Print This Page