2014 Honors Recipients

The NSSLHA Executive Council will acknowledge the following individuals and/or organizations for their outstanding achievements at the NSSLHA Honors Ceremony on Friday, November 21, 2014, during NSSLHA Experience at the ASHA Convention.

Pearson Logo

Honors of NSSLHA

Sue HaleSue Hale is director of clinical education, and associate professor and director of the master of science speech-language pathology program at Vanderbilt University. She received her bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Mississippi where she was a faculty member and director of the Speech and Hearing Center prior to joining the Vanderbilt faculty in 2000.

Sue is an ASHA Past President, and served as Vice President for Quality of Service in Speech-Language Pathology from 2002–2004. Previous ASHA service includes memberships on the Board of Ethics, the Committee on Honors, the Council for Clinical Certification, the Council on Professional Standards, the Clinical Certification Board, and the Ad hoc Committee on Governance. She was a member and chair of the Speech-Language Pathology subcommittee of the Standards Council during the development of the 2005 standards for certification in speech-language pathology, chair of the Clinical Certification Board, and the first chair of the Council for Clinical Certification. She was selected as an ASHA Fellow in 1999.

Chapter Advisor Honors

Constance QuallsConstance Dean Qualls, PhD, CCC-SLP, ASHA Fellow, has been involved with NSSLHA since 1992, when she served a 2-year term as president of the UDC Chapter during her graduate program. In 1993, she received the NSSLHA Student Honors Award in recognition of Outstanding Leadership and Achievement for reorganizing and reenergizing the chapter. In 2010, Dr. Qualls received the Outstanding Alumnus Award from the University of Memphis, where she received her doctoral degree. She often attends the NSSLHA Luncheon at the ASHA Convention, and, as past ASHA Vice President for Science and Research, she worked closely with NSSLHA board members and the National NSSLHA office staff. The Buffalo State Chapter of the National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (BSC NSSLHA) offers educational and leadership experiences for its members, and volunteer and philanthropic events for the college and the Buffalo community. Dr. Qualls is Chair and Professor of Speech-Language Pathology and BSC NSSLHA Faculty Advisor.

CICSD Editor's Award

Jenna ForanPatty PrelockTiffany HutchinsThe 2014 CICSD Editor's Award is awarded to "Examining the Benefit of Including a Sibling in Story-Based Interventions with a Child with Asperger Syndrome" by authors Jenna L. Foran, Tiffany L. Hutchins, Patricia A. Prelock, Dianna Murray-Close from the University of Vermont. (Fall 2014, Volume 41)

 Distinguished Students of Service

2015 - Nicole CaputiNicole Caputi – University of the District of Columbia. The Distinguished Students of Service (DSS) rewards students for being engaged in service on the local, state, and national level.

Chapter Honors

Chapter Honors are awarded to a chapter that has reached, at a minimum, the Bronze level of the Chapter Honors Program.

2014 Gold

  • California State University – Fullerton, Region 10
  • California State University – Northridge, Region 10
  • Chapman University, Region 10
  • Florida State University, Region 3
  • Long Island University – Brooklyn, Region 2
  • Marywood University, Region 1
  • Mercy College, Region 2
  • Minot State University, Region 6
  • Pennsylvania State University, Region 1
  • Southern Illinois University – Carbondale, Region 7
  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock / University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Region 8
  • University of Arkansas – Fayetteville, Region 8
  • University of Cincinnati, Region 4
  • University of Florida – Graduate Chapter, Region 3
  • University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign, Region 7
  • University of Iowa, Region 7
  • University of Missouri, Region 8
  • University of Nebraska – Omaha, Region 6
  • University of Northern Iowa, Region 7
  • University of Virginia, Region 5
  • University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee, Region 7
  • Vanderbilt University, Region 3
  • West Chester University, Region 1

*denotes Chapter of the Year

2014 Silver

  • Augustana College, Region 7
  • Molloy College, Region 2
  • Richard Stockton College, Region 5
  • San Francisco State University, Region 10
  • St. Ambrose University, Region 7
  • St. Mary's College, Region 4
  • University of Central Missouri, Region 8
  • University of Memphis, Region 3
  • Western Michigan University, Region 4

2014 Bronze

  • California State University – San Marcos, Region 10
  • East Stroudsburg University, Region 1
  • Misericordia University, Region 1
  • Northwestern University, Region 7
  • Nova Southeastern University, Region 3
  • San Jose State University, Region 10
  • St. John's University – Queens, Region 2
  • University of Central Florida – Orlando, Region 3
  • University of Mississippi, Region 8
  • University of Montana, Region 9
  • University of Pittsburgh, Region 1
  • University of the District of Columbia, Region 5

Member Honors

Member Honors recipients (listed in alphabetical order by university name):

  • Elizabeth Hughes, Augustana College (AuD)
  • Corinne Walker, Augustana College (SLP)
  • Christine Turner, California State University – San Marcos
  • Avalon Scopellite, California State University – Fullerton
  • Shelah Peterson, California State University – Northridge
  • Anh Doan, Chapman University
  • Ben Masur , City University of New York – Hunter College
  • Kelley Walton, Clarion University of Pennsylvania
  • Aralee Williams, East Straudsburg University
  • Catherine Crowley, Eastern Michigan University
  • Taryn Rumsey, Elmira College
  • Claire Morrison, Florida State University
  • R. Danielle Scott, Indiana University, NBALSH Student Research Award Recipient
  • Marissa Lombardo, Ithaca University
  • Courtney Walker, Lamar University
  • Jennifer Garcia, Long Island University – Brooklyn
  • Lorena Martinez, Marquette University
  • Laura Drake, Marywood University
  • Amanda Tighe, Mercy College
  • Courtney Johnson, Minot State University
  • Lauren Kiraly, Molloy College
  • Victoria Bergeron, Nicholls State University
  • Kathleen Brady, Northwestern University
  • Kristina Sabado, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
  • Natalie Silance, San Diego State University
  • Ariel Rodriguez, San Francisco State University
  • Jen Thomas, Southern Illinois University – Carbondale
  • Andrea Jansen , St. Ambrose University
  • Abby Hill, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • Siobhan Osborne, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • Ellen Donoghue, University of Arkansas – Fayetteville
  • Meaghan Morrison, University of Central Missouri
  • Delayna Gary, University of Central Oklahoma
  • Sarah Colligan, University of Cincinnati (AuD)
  • Rilie Mangan, University of Cincinnati (SLP)
  • Chloe Montalbano, University of Florida – Graduate Chapter
  • Hannah Cornett, University of Georgia
  • Anne Clark, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign
  • Jaclyn Smith, University of Iowa
  • Marina Simons, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Caleb McNiece, University of Memphis (AuD)
  • Mary Alice Patton, University of Memphis (SLP)
  • Brea Burkett, University of Mississippi
  • Stevee Nolan, University of Missouri
  • Haley Jacobsen, University of Nebraska – Omaha
  • Bailey Knudson, University of Northern Iowa
  • Lauren Dubyne, University of PIttsburgh
  • Megan Crawford, University of Virginia
  • Marie Turner, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  • Chelsea Bartholomew, Valdosta State University
  • Samara Nichols, Vanderbilt University
  • Melanie Riland, West Chester University

Our Partners