American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Certification Standards for Speech-Language Pathology Frequently Asked Questions: Summative Assessment

2005 SLP Certification Standards

What mechanism is used for summative assessment?

The summative assessment used for ASHA certification is the Praxis series examination in speech-language pathology administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS).

Is the graduate program responsible for assuring that the students take the Praxis exam prior to graduation?

No, it is the student's responsibility to be sure that they have completed the examination at the appropriate time. The Praxis examination is designed to be taken once graduate academic course work and clinical practicum have been completed, but in many situations students take the exam as they are beginning their final year in the graduate program.

When the exam is taken, the applicant must list ASHA as a score recipient so that the results will be sent to the National Office. Additionally, it is helpful if the applicant lists his or her graduate program as a score recipient so that the program can report aggregate performance data periodically to the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA) for the program's accreditation purposes.

What is the minimum passing score required for ASHA certification?

The current passing score in speech-language pathology is 600. In order for an applicant's score to be accepted for ASHA certification, it must be reported to ASHA by the Educational Testing Service. Score reports received directly from applicants are not acceptable for certification purposes.

How long do scores remain valid?

Exam results submitted for certification in speech-language pathology must have been obtained no more than five (5) years prior to the submission of the certification application. Scores older than 5 years will not be accepted for certification.

Share This Page

Print This Page