Wyoming Hearing Screening Requirements for Newborns and School-Aged Children
The following information summarizes hearing screening programs for newborns and school-aged children.
The information has been collected by researching individual state statutes, regulations, policy documents, and by contacting each state. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Every child born in the state of Wyoming, within 3 to 5 days for full term children and 5 to 8 days for premature children following birth unless a different time period is medically indicated, shall be given medical examinations for detection of major hearing defects.
Intervention is not addressed by laws/regulations.
Standards and protocols are not addressed by laws/regulations.
Tracking and reporting is not addressed by laws/regulations.
Wyoming Department of Developmental Health, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention
Wyoming laws/regulations do not require school-age hearing screenings.
For further information on hearing screening requirements, visit this website:
Newborn Screening Statute: Wyoming Stat. Ann. §35-4-801
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.