Vermont Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be at least 18 years old
- have passed a written examination
- not be guilty of unprofessional conduct
The Director of Professional Regulation may waive the examination requirement if the applicant is a hearing aid dispenser regulated under the laws of another state, who is in good standing to dispense hearing aids in that state and who was licensed by examination and the examination currently used is equivalent to Vermont's, including the criteria for passing.
A temporary license may be issued to a person who applies for the first time to practice as a hearing aid dispenser, is employed by a licensed hearing aid dispenser and has attained the age of majority.
A temporary license allows a person to practice as a hearing aid dispenser while directly supervised by a hearing aid dispenser licensed until he or she takes the next examination provided by the director and a determination is made of his or her qualifications to practice in this state. The supervising hearing aid dispenser shall personally observe the temporary licensee while conducting and interpreting hearing tests and making earmolds or impressions, for a period of two months following issuance of a license or until the license expires, whichever occurs first.
Temporary licenses shall remain in force no longer than 60 days following examination and shall not be extended except for good and exceptional cause shown by the applicant. Not more than one temporary license may be issued to the same person. No extension shall be granted to an applicant who fails the examination.
There are no requirements for continuing education in the law/regulations.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The secretary of state appoints three licensed hearing aid dispensers and one member of the public to serve as advisors to the Director of Professional Regulation in matters related to hearing aid dispensers. Of the licensed hearing aid dispensers, one member is an otolaryngologist, one is an audiologist, and the third is a hearing aid dispenser who is neither an otolaryngologist nor an audiologist. The public member shall have a significant hearing impairment and use a hearing aid regularly.
45 days from date of delivery
Mail OrderMail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and Internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Aid Dispenser Laws
Hearing Aid Dispenser Regulations [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.