Virginia Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be at least 18 years of age
- have completed high school or a high school equivalency course
- have training and experience that covers subjects as they pertain to hearing aid fitting and the sale of hearing aids, accessories and services
- have provided verification of completion of training and experience
- have not been convicted or found guilty of any crime directly related to the practice of fitting and dealing in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of adjudication
- be in good standing as a licensed hearing aid specialist in every jurisdiction where licensed
- have disclosed his physical address
- a nonresident applicant for a license has filed and maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for the department to serve as service agent for all actions filed in any court in Virginia
Every applicant for Virginia licensure through reciprocity who is currently licensed as a hearing aid specialist in good standing in another jurisdiction shall provide information upon application establishing that the requirements and standards under which the license was issued are substantially equivalent to and not conflicting with the provisions of this chapter.
Any individual may apply for a temporary permit, which is to be used solely for the purpose of gaining the training and experience required to become a licensed hearing aid specialist in Virginia. The licensed sponsor shall be identified on the application for a temporary permit.
A temporary permit shall be issued for a period of 12 months and may be extended once for not longer than six months. After a period of 18 months an extension is no longer possible and the former temporary permit holder shall sit for the examination. The Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (Board) may, at its discretion, extend the temporary permit for a temporary permit holder who suffers serious personal illness or injury, or death in his immediate family, or obligation of military service or service in the Peace Corps, or for other good cause of similar magnitude approved by the Board. Documentation of these circumstances must be received by the Board no later than 12 months after the date of the expiration of the temporary permit or within six months of the completion of military or Peace Corps service, whichever is later.
There are no requirements for continuing education in the law/regulations.
Audiologists who dispense hearing aids must obtain a hearing aid dispenser license.
The Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians shall consist of 15 members, as follows: four licensed hearing aid specialists, of which at least one shall be licensed as an audiologist by the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, six licensed opticians, one otolaryngologist, one ophthalmologist, and three citizen members.
One of the citizen members shall be a hearing aid user or a person who has a family member who is or has been a hearing aid user. Each hearing aid specialist and the otolaryngologist shall have at least five years of experience in their respective fields immediately prior to appointment.
30 days from the date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing is not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Aid Specialist Law
Hearing Aid Specialist Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.