American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Utah Support Personnel Requirements

The following information includes laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Speech-Language Pathology

School Setting Requirements

  1. To qualify for the speech-language technician (SLT) license area of concentration, an individual must complete a Board-approved bachelor's degree in communication disorders at an accredited higher education institution, and additional training as required by the Utah State Office of Education.
  2. Additional professional development must be completed prior to or within the first year of receiving this area of concentration in order to meet defined competencies.
  3. SLTs must work under the supervision of a speech-language pathologist who accepts full responsibility for the work of the SLT.
  4. An SLT may perform their functions and duties solely within the confines of the public school. The speech-language pathologist may not supervise more than three SLTs concurrently.
  5. The SLT must receive a minimum of 30 percent supervision for the first 90 work days (with at least 20 percent being direct) and 20 percent after the first 90 work days (with at least 10 percent being direct).
  6. Local education agencies must ensure that SLTs receive Utah State Office of Education approved professional development.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

  1. Speech-language pathology aides must provide evidence of graduation from an accredited high school or equivalent; upon request of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, a licensee who employs an aide must provide documentation that the aide has met the qualifications and is functioning under a utilization plan.
  2. A licensed speech-language pathologist supervising an aide must have a current written utilization plan outlining the specific manner in which the aide will be employed and supervised.
  3. The supervisor shall be responsible for the direct supervision of the aide. A licensed speech-language pathologist may not supervise more than three aides at one time.

Audiology

School Setting Requirements

No regulations for this setting.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

  1. Audiology aides must provide evidence of graduation from an accredited high school or equivalent; upon request of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, a licensee who employs an aide must provide documentation that the aide has met the qualifications and is functioning under a utilization plan.
  2. A licensed audiologist supervising an aide must have a current written utilization plan outlining the specific manner in which the aide will be employed and supervised.
  3. The supervisor shall be responsible for the direct supervision of the aide.
  4. A licensed audiologist may not supervise more than three aides at one time.

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings, please visit these websites:

Laws and Regulations for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Aides

Administrative Code for Speech-Language Pathology Technician in School Settings

To see where your state stands on support personnel licensure trends, please view the trends charts which are updated annually:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page