Utah Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be of good moral character
- have successfully completed 4,000 hours of practice as a hearing instrument intern within the state under supervision by a supervising hearing instrument specialist or an equivalent as approved by the Division; or demonstrate successful practice for the equivalent of two years of full-time practice as a licensed hearing instrument specialist in another state requiring licensure and practice in conformity with defined lawful and professional standards of practice
- Have qualified for and currently hold board certification by the National Board for Certification - Hearing Instrument Sciences, or an equivalent certification approved by the Division in collaboration with the Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensing Board
- Have passed the Utah Law and Rules Examination for Hearing Instrument Specialists
- Have passed a written and practical exam
Licensing reciprocity is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Each applicant for licensure as a hearing instrument intern shall be of good moral character, have passed the Utah Law and Rules Examination for Hearing Instrument Specialists, and present evidence acceptable to the Division and the Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensing Board that the applicant will practice as a hearing instrument intern only under supervision of a supervising hearing instrument specialist.
A minimum of 20 contact hours shall be obtained by a hearing instrument specialist in order to have the license renewed every two years.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensing Board consisting of three licensed hearing instrument specialists and two members of the general public.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and Internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Instrument Specialist Law [PDF]
Hearing Instrument Specialist Regulations [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.