American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Texas Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Audiology

  1. Doctoral degree required from a program accredited by a national accrediting organization that is approved by the Board and recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education in an accredited or approved college or university; if institution not accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation (CAA), ASHA Clinical Certification Board shall evaluate the course work and clinical experience. Master's degree accepted if earned before 2007 and must show ASHA or American Board of Audiology certification.
  2. Passage of an examination.
  3. Criminal background check.
  4. All applicants must submit proof of successful completion of the jurisprudence examination at the time of application. The jurisprudence examination must be completed no more than six months prior to the date of licensure application.

The Board may waive the clinical and examination requirements and grant licensure to a CCC holder or, in the case of audiology, certification from the American Board of Audiology.

Speech Language Pathology

  1. Master's degree from a program accredited by a national accrediting organization approved by the Board and recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education in an accredited college or university; if institution not CAA accredited must send letter from ASHA stating the Council for Clinical Certification has accepted the course work and clinical experience.
  2. 400 hours supervised clinical practicum.
  3. 3. 36 weeks of full-time or equivalent part-time supervised professional experience.
  4. Passage of an examination. 
  5. Criminal background check. 
  6. All applicants must submit proof of successful completion of the jurisprudence examination at the time of application. The jurisprudence examination must be completed no more than six months prior to the date of licensure application.

The Board may waive the clinical and examination requirements and grant licensure to a CCC holder.

Exemptions

  1. Licensed professionals performing services for which they are licensed
  2. Students appropriately designated as speech-language pathology or audiology trainees
  3. Physicians/surgeons
  4. Hearing screeners trained by the Texas Department of Health
  5. Hearing aid fitters and dispensers
  6. Council for Accreditation in Occupational Hearing Conservation technicians
  7. Certificate holders in speech-language pathology or audiology from the Texas Education Agency for services only within their jurisdiction and if limited to screening procedures performed without compensation
  8. Registered nurses conducting communication, speech, language, or hearing screenings

Reciprocity

The Board may grant licensure to a CCC holder or, in the case of audiology, certification from the American Board of Audiology.

Reciprocity/Endorsement

  1. The Board may waive the clinical and examination requirements and grant licensure to a CCC holder or, in the case of audiology, certification from the American Board of Audiology. 
  2. Internships completed out-of-state must submit a copy of supervisor's master's degree in the area of communicative sciences and disorders and a copy of the supervisor's valid license to practice in that state.

Interim Practice

  1. The State Board of Examiners may grant a provisional license to an applicant licensed in another state with equivalent standards, has passed a national or other examination relating to speech-language pathology or audiology that is recognized by the State Board of Examiners, and is sponsored by a licensee; such license is valid until the State Board of Examiners approves or denies the applicant's state license.
  2. An intern license is required before beginning the supervised professional experience; an audiology intern may fit and dispense hearing instruments under supervision; audiology internship shall consist of 1,600 hours of supervised clinical work; supervisors shall have a valid Texas license and practiced for at least three years.
  3. The State Board of Examiners may grant a temporary certificate of registration for applicants who meet all requirements for licensure except for the examination; the certificate entitles the individual to practice until eight weeks after the offering of the next examination; it is non-renewable but does allow the holder to fit and dispense hearing aids under supervision.
  4. Applicants who have completed the academic and clinical requirements for licensure but have not yet received their degree, may be licensed as an intern.

Continuing Education

Twenty clock hours are be required to renew a license issued for a two-year term. Dual licensees must earn 30 clock hours to renew a license issued for a two-year term. Licensees must complete a minimum of two clock hours in ethics as part of the continuing education requirement each renewal term.

Telepractice

For information on Texas telepractice requirements, visit State Telepractice Requirements.

Board Oversight

Board of Examiners for Speech Language Pathology and Audiology

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page