Texas Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- have attained the age of majority
- have graduated from an accredited high school or equivalent
- have passed a written and practical exam
A person licensed to fit and dispense hearing instruments in another state may apply for a license in this state.
The State Committee of Examiners in the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing (Committee) shall require an applicant for a license to provide as part of the application
- written verification that the applicant is licensed in good standing as a fitter and dispenser of hearing instruments in another state and has held the license for at least three years preceding the date of application;
- written verification that:
- the requirements to obtain a license to fit and dispense hearing instruments in the state in which the applicant is licensed include passing an examination approved by the Committee by rule; or
- the applicant holds a certification from a professional organization approved by the Committee by rule;
- affirmation that the applicant is a resident of this state;
- a written statement from the licensing entity in the state in which the applicant is licensed that details any disciplinary action taken by the entity against the applicant;
- a statement of the applicant's criminal history acceptable to the committee.
The Committee may deny an application under this section based on the applicant's criminal history or history of disciplinary action.
If the Committee approves an application, on the next regularly scheduled examination date the applicant may take the practical section of the examination and a written examination of Texas law administered by the Committee.
The Committee shall issue a temporary training permit to a person who has never taken the examination and possesses the qualifications required. An application for a temporary training permit must be accompanied by the affidavit of a person licensed to fit and dispense hearing instruments. A temporary training permit authorizes the permit holder to fit and dispense hearing instruments until the earlier of:
- the date the permit expires; or
- the date the permit holder passes the examination required for a license under this chapter.
A temporary training permit automatically expires on the first anniversary of the date of issuance unless the Committee extends the permit for an additional period not to exceed six months. The Committee may not extend a temporary training permit more than once.
The Committee shall issue an apprentice permit to fit and dispense hearing instruments to a temporary training permit holder who has passed all parts of the examination with a score of 70 percent or greater. An apprentice permit is valid for one year. The Committee may extend the apprentice permit for an additional period not to exceed six months. An apprentice permit holder shall work under the supervision of a licensed hearing instrument dispenser for at least one year. During the apprentice year, the apprentice permit holder shall complete 20 hours of classroom continuing education.
Each license holder must complete 20 hours of continuing education each year.
Audiologists and audiology interns may dispense under an audiology license or audiology intern license but must register with the State Committee of Examiners in the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing and comply with the state and FDA guidelines for fitting and dispensing hearing aids.
The State Committee of Examiners in the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing consists of nine members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate as follows
- six members licensed under this chapter who have been residents of this state actually engaged in fitting and dispensing hearing instruments for at least five years preceding appointment, not more than one of whom may be licensed under Chapter 401;
- one member who is actively practicing as a physician licensed by the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners and who:
- has been a resident of this state for at least two years preceding appointment;
- is a citizen of the United States;
- specializes in the practice of otolaryngology;
- two members of the public.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
A person may not dispense or fit a hearing instrument on a person who has ordered the hearing instrument or device by mail unless the person dispensing or fitting is a license holder or sell a hearing instrument by mail.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Instrument Laws
Hearing Instrument Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.