Rhode Island Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be at least 21 years of age
- be of good moral character
- have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high school
- be free of contagious or infectious disease
- have passed a written and practical exam
Whenever the Hearing Aid Dealer and Fitter Board determines that another state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher than those in effect in Rhode Island and that such state or jurisdiction has a program equivalent to or stricter than the program for determining whether applicants in Rhode Island are qualified to dispense and fit hearing aids, the Department of Health may issue certificates of endorsement to applicants who hold current, unsuspended, and unrevoked certificates or licenses to fit and sell hearing aids in that other state or jurisdiction.
An applicant who fulfills the requirements regarding age, character, education, and health may obtain a temporary permit upon application to the Department of Health. A person holding a valid hearing aid dealer's and fitter's license shall be responsible for the supervision and training of that applicant, the documentation of the required supervision and training, and the maintenance of adequate personal contact with the applicant. If an applicant is unable to pass the licensing examination within one year from the date of issuance of the temporary permit, said applicant shall remain as a temporary permit holder and the level of supervision shall continue until such time as the licensing examination is successfully completed, but no later than two years from the date of issuance of the temporary permit.
There are no requirements for continuing education in the law/regulations.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Hearing Aid Dealer and Fitter Board shall consist of three hearing aid dealers and fitters, one otolaryngologist, one audiologist, and one lay member who shall be a user of hearing aids and not employed in the practice of fitting and dealing in hearing aids.
30 days from the date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing is not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter Board Law
Hearing Aid Dealer & Fitter Regulations [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.