Pennsylvania Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- An applicant who is licensed or registered in any other state, which has requirements equal to or greater than those in Pennsylvania, may be granted registration by endorsement.
- An applicant who has demonstrated that they have engaged in the practice in a place state other than Pennsylvania for 2 years within a 5 year period may be granted a temporary registration. The temporary registrant must take the written exam within one year.
An applicant who has fulfilled the requirements and who proves to the satisfaction of the department that he will be supervised and trained by a person who holds a valid fitter's registration certificate may have an apprentice fitter's registration certificate issued to him which shall entitle him to be engaged, under such supervision, in the fitting and selling of hearing aids during a six month training period.
On completion, the trainee shall take the qualifying examination given by the department and upon passing that examination, shall receive a fitter's certificate of registration.
The continuing education requirement for renewal of a hearing aid fitter's registration certificate is 20 hours of continuing education credit in the two years.
Audiologists who dispense hearing aids must obtain a hearing aid dealers license, but are not required to take the qualifying examination. Audiologists who work for a company who has obtained a hearing aid dealers license, do not need to be separately licensed and may dispense hearing aids under the audiology license. Audiologists would be required to obtain a fitter registration if he/she wishes to officially supervise and train an apprentice fitter.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail order dispensing is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Hearing Aid Registration Program Advisory Council
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit this website:
Hearing Aid Dispenser Practice Act & Rules and Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.