Oregon Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be a person 18 years of age or older
- have graduated from high school or has been awarded a General Educational Development (GED) certificate.
- have completed the training and has the experience required
- have passed a written and practical exam
An applicant must provide documentation, in the form of an Affidavit of Licensure, submitted directly to the agency from the originating state's regulatory office, evidencing that the applicant currently holds or held a hearing aid specialist license within three years immediately prior to the application date and that the licensee has not been subject to disciplinary action involving suspension or revocation, or no action is currently pending against the licensee, and no civil penalties are outstanding against the licensee.
A temporary license may be issued to an applicant who meets the application requirements except the examination. The temporary license will be issued for a one-year period, expiring on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance. Attainment of permanent licensure status by satisfactorily passing the examination supersedes the temporary hearing aid specialist license.
An applicant for trainee registration must submit a completed Training Registration Agreement, Declaration of Responsibility. A trainee may deal in hearing aids under the direct supervision of a designated supervisor except that a trainee may not fit or sell hearing aids. The agency will authorize an Oregon licensed hearing aid specialist to act as designated supervisor of a trainee provided the licensee holds a valid license, has been actively practicing for at least three years, and has not had any disciplinary action or civil penalty imposed by the agency.
All licensees submitting application for renewal must have completed 24 contact hours of approved continuing education during the preceding two years.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Advisory Council on Hearing Aids shall consist of seven members to be appointed by the Governor. Members of the council must be residents of this state. A member of the council may not be a member or employee of the agency. Membership on the council shall consist of: one member who is licensed to practice medicine in this state and holds a certificate of qualification from the American Board of Otolaryngology; one member who holds a clinical certification in audiology with the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and is a member in good standing with that association; four members who are experienced in the fitting of hearing aids and possess the required qualifications; and one member who is a consumer of hearing aids and does not possess the professional qualifications of the other members.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
It is unlawful for any person to offer for sale or sell a hearing aid in this state by direct mail. However, hearing aids may be delivered by mail if the fitting and sale were completed in this state.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Aid Specialist Statutes
Hearing Aid Specialist Regulations
Questions regarding state advoccy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.