Oklahoma Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- be at least 18 years of age
- be of good moral character. A criminal record shall not in itself bar an applicant from licensing, but evidence of such record may be considered along with other information in determining whether or not the applicant is of good moral character.
- have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high school
- have passed a written and practical exam
Whenever the state Commissioner of Health determines that another state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher than those in effect pursuant to these regulations, and that such state or jurisdiction has a program equivalent to or stricter than the program for determining whether applicants pursuant to these regulations are qualified to dispense and fit hearing aids, the Commissioner may issue a license to applicants who hold current, unsuspended, and unrevoked certificates or licenses to fit and sell hearing aids in such other state or jurisdiction. Applicants must register with the Department and pass
the Oklahoma Hearing Aid Rules examination and Hearing Aid Trouble Shooting
An applicant who fulfills the requirements regarding age and character shall be entitled to a temporary hearing aid dealer or fitter permit, which shall entitle the applicant to engage in the fitting and sale of hearing aids for a period not to exceed six months or until the holder has successfully passed the examination required for a license, whichever period is less. A person holding a valid Oklahoma Hearing Aid Dealers' and Fitters' License shall be responsible for the direct supervision and training of such applicant and maintain adequate personal contact. The Commissioner shall not extend a temporary permit more than one time.
Each applicant for renewal of a hearing aid dealer or
fitter license must submit written evidence showing he/she has completed ten
(10) clock hours of continuing education during the previous year
and pertaining to the hearing sciences. No more than four (4) online continuing
education clock hours may be submitted for the required ten (10) annual hours.
The continuing education hours must be approved by the International Institute
of Hearing Instruments or have had the curriculum approved by the Department.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and Internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
Hearing Aid Advisory Council
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.