Ohio Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- be at least 18 years of age
- be a person of good moral character
- be free of contagious or infectious disease
- have passed a written and practical exam
- A license issued to an individual, firm, partnership, association, or corporation by another state will not be honored in lieu of a license issued by the state of Ohio. However, if an individual applicant has completed an examination equal or superior to the Ohio examination, the Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board (Board) may waive or partially waive the examination requirements for licensure in the state of Ohio.
- An applicant who passed the International Institute for Hearing Instrument Sciences licensing examination in another state by at least the minimum passing score required in Ohio, shall be considered to have passed the written examination.
- An applicant who passed the International Institute for Hearing Instrument Sciences practical examination in another state by at least the minimum passing score required in Ohio, shall be considered to have passed the practical examination.
Each person currently engaged in training to become a licensed hearing aid dealer or fitter shall apply to the Board for a hearing aid dealer's and fitter's trainee permit. The applicant must meet the requirements for licensure except has not taken the examination.
Each trainee permit issued by the Board expires one year from the date it was first issued, and may be renewed once if the trainee has not successfully completed the qualifying requirements for licensing as a hearing aid dealer or fitter before the expiration date of such permit. No person holding a trainee permit shall engage in the practice of dealing in or fitting of hearing aids except while under supervision by a licensed hearing aid dealer or fitter.
Each person engaged in the practice of dealing in or fitting of hearing aids who holds a valid hearing aid dealer's or fitter's license shall complete each year not less than 10 hours of continuing professional education approved by the Board. The continuing education units must be acquired in subjects related to hearing aid fitting or audiology.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and Internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Licensing Board
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.