New Mexico Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- is at least 18 years of age
- have at least a high school education or the equivalent
- has a business location in New Mexico
- worked for no less than seven months under a training permit
- is not guilty of any specified activities
- has passed a written and practical exam
- has passed a jurisprudence exam
If currently or previously licensed in another state a verification of licensure must be sent directly to the Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology & Hearing Aid Dispensers Board by the issuing jurisdiction.
Individuals who meet all requirements for a hearing aid dispenser's license but do not have the required practical experience in dispensing of hearing aids can apply for a temporary hearing aid dispensing permit.
A trainee permit may be issued at any time and will be valid for one year. Upon expiration, another training permit may not be issued for one calendar year following expiration of the previous permit or if the applicant has failed the examination twice within a five year period.
The trainee must identify a qualified sponsor. Each trainee shall receive intensive training working under the direct supervision of his/her sponsor for a minimum of 320 hours within a three month period.
Following completion of 320 hours, an additional five continuous months of full time work is required. All activities of the trainee during this time must be reviewed and approved by the sponsor and may include dispensing hearing aids, making adjustments in fitting and modifying and repairing hearing aids and earmolds. All sales receipts must have some evidence of the sponsor's approval of the sale.
The Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology & Hearing Aid Dispensers Board will require 20 hours of continuing education every two years.
Licensed audiologists wishing to dispense must apply for an endorsement and have: 6 months experience in dispensing through practical examination, a facility for dispensing, passage of a jurisprudence exam, and not be guilty of any specified activities.
The Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology & Hearing Aid Dispensers Board shall consist of 10 members who have been New Mexico residents for at least five years prior to their appointment. Among the membership, two members shall be licensed speech-language pathologists, two members shall be licensed audiologists, two members shall be licensed hearing aid dispensers, one member shall be a licensed otolaryngologist and three members shall represent the public and have no interest, direct or indirect, in the profession regulated.
A hearing aid trial period is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing is not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit this website:
Speech-Language Pathology, Audiology & Hearing Aid Dispensers Board Rules and Laws
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.