American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

New Hampshire Hearing Screening Requirements for Newborns and School-Aged Children

The following information summarizes hearing screening programs for newborns and school-aged children.

The information has been collected by researching individual state statutes, regulations, policy documents, and by contacting each state. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Newborn Screening

Screening

All hospitals with birth facilities offer newborn hearing screening before babies go home.

Intervention

Intervention is not addressed by laws/regulations.

Standards/Protocols

Standards and protocols is not addressed by laws/regulations.

Tracking/Reporting

Within 2 weeks of testing, individuals conducting newborn hearing screening and diagnostic hearing evaluation shall report the following information to the Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) program via the EHDI database:

  1. Demographic information, including:
    a. The infant's name,
    b. The infant's sex,
    c. The infant's race,
    d. The infant's date of birth,
    e. The infant's medical record number,
    f. The infant's birth facility,
    g. Family contact information,
    h. The infant's health care provider,
    i. The name of the infant's health insurance provider, and
  2. Results from testing, including:
    a. Birth facility,
    b. Testing date,
    c. Type of testing,
    d. Testing results,
    e. Diagnosis, and
    f. Risk factors for progressive hearing loss.

New Hampshire audiologists providing diagnostic hearing evaluation shall submit to the Department of Health the following information:

  1. Referral information for medical, genetic, and early support services, and
  2. Hearing follow-up information, such as post-referral disposition.

New Hampshire organizations and agencies providing intervention and early supports and services to children between the ages of birth and 3 years with hearing conditions shall submit to the Department of Health the following information:

  1. Diagnosis and risk factors for progressive hearing loss,
  2. Referral information for medical, genetic, and early support services, and
  3. Nature of the services provided and post referral disposition date.

School-Age Screening

The State of New Hampshire does not mandate health screenings by school nurses at this time. However, many nurses choose to perform screenings in an effort to improve the health and well-being of their students.

Resources

For further information on hearing screening requirements, visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page