New Hampshire Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be at least 18 years of age
- be of good professional character
- have an associate's degree in any field; have earned 60 credits toward a baccalaureate in any field; or have earned board certification by the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences
- have passed a training course no longer than 24 months approved by the National Institute of Hearing Instrument Studies (NIHIS), with home study acceptable, or a training program supervised by a licensed audiologist or registered hearing aid dealer with a minimum of two years experience
- have passed a written and practical exam
Applicants who are board certified by the National Institute of Hearing Instrument Studies and have completed and passed the National Institute of Hearing Instrument Studies examination in another state are exempt from examination but must submit application and fees.
Temporary licensure is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Eight credit hours are required annually.
An audiologist must register as a hearing aid dealer.
The Board of Hearing Care Providers shall consist of two audiologists licensed to practice audiology in the state, who have been practicing in this state for at least one year immediately preceding appointment; one licensed otolaryngologist currently practicing in the state; two non-audiologist hearing aid dealers registered to dispense hearing aids in the state, who have been practicing in this state for at least one year immediately preceding appointment; and two members of the public who are not associated with or financially interested in the practice or business of audiology or the dispensing of hearing aids, who are not members of allied or related professions or occupations.
The hearing aid dealers subcommittee shall consist of the two non-audiologist hearing aid dealer members of the Board and one of the public members.
Within 30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
No person shall conduct or operate a business outside of the state for the sale at retail of hearing aids to individuals within the state unless such business is registered with a permit issued by the Board of Hearing Care Providers.
- The Board of Hearing Care Providers shall issue a permit to such out-of-state business if the business discloses and provides proof:
- that the business is in compliance with all applicable laws and rules in the state in which the business is located;
- of the operating locations and the names and titles of all principal corporate officers;
- that the business complies with all lawful directions and requests for information from the Board of Hearing Care Providers of all states in which it conducts business; and
- that the business agrees in writing to comply with all New Hampshire laws and rules relating to the sale or dispensing of hearing aids.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Board of Hearing Care Providers Laws
Board of Hearing Care Providers Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.