American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Nebraska Support Personnel Requirements

The following information includes speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel requirements in educational and other practice settings. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Speech-Language Pathology

School Setting Requirements

Speech Language Technician

A Provisional Special Services Certificate with an endorsement as a speech-language technician may be granted to individuals with a bachelor's degree in speech pathology. No Nebraska standard institution of higher education will be granted approval to offer a program of study leading to this endorsement. Persons with this endorsement do not qualify for membership on a multi-disciplinary team and/or an individual educational plan team.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

Speech Language Pathology Assistant

  1. Speech language pathology assistants must register.
  2. Applicants for assistant registration must have a bachelor's degree or equivalent in communications disorders or hold an associate degree or equivalent or have been previously registered and practicing as a communication assistant for 30 per week for a minimum of 9 months per year between June 1, 2005 and June 1, 2007.
  3. The supervising speech-language pathologist must provide direct, on-site supervision for the first 2 treatments of each client and at least 20% of all treatment sessions per quarter.
  4. The supervising speech-language pathologist must provide the assistant with at least 10 hours each year of in-service training and prepare semiannual performance evaluations to be reviewed with the assistant on a one-to-one basis.
  5. Supervision is limited to 2 assistants at one time.

Audiology

School Setting Requirements

Not regulated in school settings.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

  1. Audiology assistants must register.
  2. Applicants for assistant registration must have a bachelor's degree or equivalent in communications disorders or hold an associate degree or equivalent or have been previously registered and practicing as a communication assistant for 30 per week for a minimum of 9 months per year between June 1, 2005 and June 1, 2007.
  3. The supervising audiologist must provide direct, on-site supervision for the first 2 treatments of each client and at least 20% of all treatment sessions per quarter.
  4. The supervising audiologist must provide the assistant with at least 10 hours each year of in-service training and prepare semiannual performance evaluations to be reviewed with the assistant on a one-to-one basis.
  5. Supervision is limited to 2 assistants at one time.

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings, please visit these websites:

Statutes, Rules and Regulations for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Assistants [PDF]

Department of Education Regulations for Certificate Endorsements for Speech Language Technicians [PDF]

To see where your state stands on support personnel licensure trends, please view the trends charts which are updated annually:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page