North Carolina Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be a person of good moral character
- be 18 years of age or older
- have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high school
- have passed a written and practical exam
Whenever the Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board (Board) determines that another state or jurisdiction has requirements at least equivalent to those in this state for the fitting and selling of hearing aids, and that such state or jurisdiction has a program at least equivalent to the program for determining whether applicants pursuant to this chapter are qualified to sell and fit hearing aids, the Board may issue, but is not compelled to issue, licenses to applicants therefor who hold current, unsuspended, and unrevoked certificates or licenses to fit and sell hearing aids in such other state or jurisdiction.
Any person age 17 or older may apply to the Board for registration as an apprentice, which shall entitle the applicant to fit and sell hearing aids under the supervision of a registered sponsor.
If a person 18 years of age or older who is registered as an apprentice does not take the next succeeding examination given after a minimum of one full year of apprenticeship, the person's apprentice registration shall not be renewed, except for good cause shown to the satisfaction of the Board.
If a person who is registered as an apprentice takes and fails to pass the next succeeding examination given after one full year of apprenticeship, the Board may renew the apprenticeship license for a period of time to end 30 days after the results of the examination given next after the date of renewal of said registration.
Each licensee shall be required to obtain 10 clock hours of approved continuing education, on an annual basis, as a requirement for license renewal. The Board may require all licensees to successfully attend and complete a course or courses of occupational instruction funded, conducted, or approved or sponsored by the Board on an annual basis as a condition to any license renewal.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board shall be composed of seven members: four members who have been licensed as a Hearing Aid Specialist for at least the preceding three years prior to appointment by the governor; one member shall be appointed by the governor who shall be a physician practicing in North Carolina, preferably specializing in the field of otolaryngology; one member, who shall be a person with hearing loss, shall be appointed by the governor to represent the interest of hearing aid consumers; and one member shall be appointed by the governor to represent the interest of the public at large. This member shall have no ties to the hearing aid business nor shall he be an audiologist.
It shall be unethical to violate any of the provisions of G.S. 14401.13, which makes it a criminal violation to fail to give a right to cancel in off-premises sales.
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and Internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit this website:
Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters Board Laws and Rules
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.