American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Michigan Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers

The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Hearing Aid Dealer

  • be at least 18 years of age
  • be of good moral character
  • have graduated from an accredited high school or secondary school
  • have served as a hearing aid salesperson for a period of two years under the direction and supervision of a licensed hearing aid dealer
  • have passed a written exam. The Department of Consumer and Industry Services may accept successful completion of the basic home study course conducted by the national hearing aid society in lieu of the written exam.

Hearing Aid Salesperson

  • be at least 18 years of age
  • be of good moral character
  • have graduatee from an accredited high school or secondary school
  • have successfully completed additional training and education as may be required by the Department of Consumer and Industry Services
  • have passed a written exam
  • have served at least six months as a trainee licensed by the Department of Consumer and Industry Services

Reciprocity

An applicant from another state who possesses a hearing aid license and has taken a written examination may waive portions of the Michigan examination if the Department of Consumer and Industry Services determines that the applicant's state has an equivalent examination to that of Michigan's.

Interim Practice

A trainee license will be issued to an applicant working for and under the direct supervision of a licensed dealer on the following conditions:

  1. The trainee license shall be valid for a 12-month period. A new trainee license may be issued by the board upon the filing of an application.
  2. The trainee license shall provide that the individual to whom it was issued shall work for and under the direction and supervision of a named licensed hearing aid dealer.

Continuing Education

There are no requirements for continuing education in the law/regulations.

Audiologist Dispensing

Audiologists may dispense under their audiology license.

Trial Period

A hearing aid trial period is not addressed in the law/regulations.

Mail Order/Internet Sales

Mail order dispensing is not addressed in the law/regulations.

Board Oversight

Board of Hearing Aid Dealers

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page