Maine Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalency
- Have obtained a trainee permit and have received a minimum of 750 hours of training in the practice of dealing in and fitting of hearing aids under the direct supervision of a licensed hearing aid dealer and fitter or licensed audiologist during a period of not fewer than six months nor more than 18 months
- Have passed a written and practical exam
The Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing (Board) may waive the examination and grant licensure to an applicant who presents proof of current licensure in another jurisdiction that maintains professional standards determined by the Board to be substantially equivalent to those set forth in this state, if no cause exists for denial of a license.
An applicant for a trainee permit must meet the licensure requirements and provide the signature of the licensed hearing aid dealer and fitter or licensed audiologist and who is responsible for the direct supervision of the trainee. A trainee permit is valid for 18 months. The board may approve the renewal of a trainee permit once. An individual holding a trainee permit may not engage in the practice of dealing in or fitting of hearing aids except while under supervision of a licensed hearing aid dealer and fitter or licensed audiologist.
An individual who holds a trainee permit shall notify the Board in writing upon completion of the training and shall sit for the next scheduled licensing examination. If the holder of a trainee permit successfully passes the examination, the Board may issue a license.
If the holder of a trainee permit fails the examination, that individual may retake the examination within one year after completing the training.
Eight hours of continuing education is required annually.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing consists of seven members appointed by the governor. All members must be residents of Maine. Two members must have been engaged full-time in the practice of speech-language pathology for at least one year immediately preceding appointment. Two members must have been engaged full-time in the practice of audiology for at least one year immediately preceding appointment and two hearing aid dealers and fitters must have at least five years of experience. All professional members at all times must be holders of valid licenses for the practice of speech-language pathology, audiology, or the practice of dealing in and fitting of hearing aids, respectively. The additional member is a public member.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit this website:
Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing Laws & Rules
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.