Maryland Support Personnel Requirements
The following information includes speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel requirements in educational and other practice settings. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
School Setting Requirements and Statutory and Regulatory Requirements
Individuals hired after October 1, 2007, by a Maryland local public school system, state approved non-public school for children with disabilities, or chartered educational institution of the state to provide speech and language services must be licensed by the State Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers, and Speech-language Pathologists.
- To be licensed, a speech-language pathology assistant must have completed one of the following requirements within the past five years:
- an associate's degree from an approved program for speech-language pathology assistants at an accredited institution;
- an associate's degree in an allied health field from an accredited institution, with minimum coursework that includes at least three credit hours in each of the following areas—normal speech-language development, speech disorders, anatomy and physiology of speech systems, language disorders and phonology; or
- a baccalaureate degree in speech-language pathology or communication science disorders from an accredited institution.
- A speech-language pathology assistant must demonstrate completion of 25 hours of clinical observation and 75 hours of clinical assisting experience obtained within an associate, bachelor, or master's program. If an applicant has not completed these hours, the applicant may file with the Board a written plan for an alternative method to obtain the hours.
- A full-time supervising speech-language pathologist may not supervise more than two full-time speech-language pathology assistants. A part-time supervising speech-language pathologist may not supervise more than one full time speech-language pathology assistant. A supervising speech-language pathologist must have a minimum of three years of work experience and maintain ongoing contact with all clients seen by the assistant as directed in regulation.
- Speech-language pathology assistants must complete a minimum of 10 CEUs every two years to renew their license.
- An assistant shall have a limited licensed before beginning supervised practice and shall practice only under a licensed speech-language pathologist.
- An assistant must complete nine months of supervised practice under a limited license and submit a competency checklist completed by the supervisor, to the State Board of Examiners.
An individual may be eligible for a waiver if they have been working as a speech-language pathology assistant for two years, have completed the associate's or bachelor's educational program, submit an speech-language pathology assistant competency skills checklist, and complete a delegation agreement for each supervising speech-language pathologist; or via reciprocity if the other state has equivalent qualifications.
School Setting Requirements
Support personnel are not regulated in this setting.
Statutory and Regulatory Requirements
Support personnel are not regulated by the state.
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings, please visit this website:
Laws and Regulations for Speech-Language Pathology Assistants
To see where your state stands on support personnel licensure trends, please view the trends charts which are updated annually:
Support Personnel in Other Settings [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.