Massachusetts Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Be of good moral character
- Have successfully completed a Board of Registration of Hearing Instrument Specialists (Board) approved 12 month apprenticeship, including completion of the apprentice training program and supervised work experience
- Hold current certification as a hearing instrument specialist from a Board-approved, nationally-recognized body certifying hearing instrument specialists; or pass a written or electronic examination approved by the Board and designed to test competencies and knowledge needed in hearing aid fitting and dispensing
An individual who holds a license as a hearing instrument specialist or the equivalent as determined by the Board from a state which is deemed by the Board to have substantially equivalent or higher licensure requirements than those of the Commonwealth may be licensed as a hearing instrument specialist without satisfying these requirements.
The Board shall register as an apprentice and issue a certificate of registration to an applicant who has shown to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant:
- is at least 18 years of age;
- has a high school diploma or its equivalent;
- is registered in a Board-approved training program;
- has an identified supervisor who is a person registered in good standing in the Commonwealth as a hearing instrument specialist or licensed as an audiologist and who has agreed to perform supervisory functions; and
- has paid the Board a fee which shall be set by the secretary of administration and finance. The certificate of registration for an apprentice shall include the name of the hearing instrument specialist who is supervising the apprentice and such supervisor shall execute an acknowledgment of responsibility for all acts of the apprentice in connection with hearing aid dispensing.
Upon completion of the training program (12 months), the apprentice shall take the Board-approved examination. Following three failed examinations, an apprentice shall only be reexamined at the discretion of the Board.
An apprentice registration shall expire 18 months from the date of its issuance except that, on recommendation of the board, the registration may be reissued for 18 months only.
Licensed hearings instrument specialists are required as a condition of license renewal to complete a minimum of 20 contact hours of continuing education activities per continuing education period.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
No hearing instrument shall be delivered to a consumer in Massachusetts through the mail unless the consumer has had a hearing evaluation performed and an ear impression taken by a Massachusetts registrant and the consumer has signed a federally approved medical clearance waiver.
Board of Registration of Hearing Instrument Specialists
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit this website:
Hearing Aid Dispenser Practice Act & Rules and Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.