Louisiana Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- Be a person of good moral character
- Be 21 years of age or older
- Have an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high school and two years of college or two years of accredited higher education
- Be free of contagious or infectious diseases
- Have passed a written and practical exam
Whenever the Board of Hearing Aid Dealers (Board) determines that another state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher than those in effect pursuant to this chapter for fitting and selling hearing aids and that such state or jurisdiction has a program equivalent to or higher than the program for determining whether applicants pursuant to this chapter are qualified to sell and fit hearing aids, the Board may issue a certificate of endorsement to applicants therefor who hold current, unsuspended, and unrevoked certificates or licenses to sell and fit hearing aids in such other state or jurisdiction.
An applicant who fulfills the requirements for licensure and who has not previously applied to take the examination may apply to the Board for a temporary training permit. The applicant may participate in the fitting and selling of hearing aids, under the direct supervision of a sponsor, for a period ending 30 days after the conclusion of the next examination the applicant is required to take.
If a person who holds a temporary training permit does not take the next required examination given after the date of issue, the temporary training permit shall not be renewed, except for good cause shown to the satisfaction of the Board. If a person who holds a temporary training permit takes and fails to pass the next required examination given after the date of issue, the Board may renew the temporary training permit for a period ending 30 days after the conclusion of the next examination given. In no event shall more than one renewal be permitted.
The Board shall require all licensees applying for reinstatement or renewal of licenses to have completed 15 hours of continuing education per year in courses approved by the Board, which may consist of a maximum of three hours obtained through Internet or correspondence courses, in order to renew their license on January 1 of the following year.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Board shall be composed of nine members. Seven members shall be hearing aid dealers, the eighth shall be the state health officer or his representative, and the ninth member shall be 60 years of age or over and shall serve as a representative of the elderly consumers of Louisiana.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit this website:
Board of Hearing Aid Dealers Statute
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.