Kansas Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- be 21 years of age or older
- have graduated from an accredited high school, or its equivalent
- have passed a written and practical examination
The Kansas Board of Examiners in Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing Instruments (Board) may issue a license to a person who is currently licensed to practice fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments in another jurisdiction if the Board determines that the applicant demonstrates, on forms provided by the Board, compliance with the following standards as adopted by the Board:
- continuous licensure to practice fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments during the five years immediately preceding the application with at least the minimum professional experience as established by rules and regulations of the Board.
- the absence of disciplinary actions of a serious nature brought by a licensing board or agency of another jurisdiction.
A person who has fulfilled the requirements for licensure expect for the examination may apply for a temporary license. The licensee shall practice fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments under the supervision of a person who holds a valid license.
If a person who holds a temporary license issued under this section does not take the next examination given after the date of issue, the temporary license shall not be renewed, except for good cause shown to the satisfaction of the board. If a person who holds a temporary license issued under this section takes and fails to pass the next examination given after the date of issue, the board may renew the temporary license. However, an individual may hold a temporary license no more than 16 months. No more than one renewal shall be permitted.
Each licensee applying for the renewal or reinstatement of a license shall furnish to the executive officer of the Board satisfactory evidence that such person has obtained the required number of hours of continuing education as established by rules and regulations of the Board in the year just preceding such application for the renewal or reinstatement of the license.
Audiologists must obtain an Hearing Aid Dispenser (HAD) license to dispense hearing aids.
A licensed audiologist employed by a publicly funded school district, a special education cooperative, or an education service center while serving preschool through high school age students so long as such organization does not sell hearing aids or accessories thereto and such person performing the fitting in this section does not specifically charge the person fitted a fee for such services is exempt from obtaining an HAD license.
A hearing aid trial period is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Selling through the mail, courier or delivery service, Internet, telephonically, or electronically hearing instruments without prior fitting and testing by a licensee except for a replacement of a hearing instrument that was previously fitted and tested by a licensee is prohibited.
Board of Examiners in Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing Instruments
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.