Illinois Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- be at least 18 years of age
- be of good moral character
- be a high school graduate or the equivalent
- be free of contagious or infectious disease
- be a citizen or person who has the status as a legal alien
- have passed a written and practical exam, which may be the International Hearing Society's licensure examination
- have an associate degree or its equivalent from an accredited institution of higher education that is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education
- successfully completed 12 semester hours or 18 quarter hours of academic undergraduate course work in an accredited institution consisting of three semester hours of anatomy and physiology of the speech and hearing mechanism, three semester hours of hearing science, three semester hours of introduction to audiology, and three semester hours of aural rehabilitation, or the quarter hour equivalent.
The Department of Public Health shall issue a license to any hearing instrument dispenser who (i) has a valid license as a hearing instrument dispenser or its equivalent from another state that has an examination that is comparable to the examination required in this state or is provided by the International Hearing Society, (ii) has completed the required academic and training requirements, or their equivalent, and (iii) has been actively practicing as a hearing instrument dispenser for at least three months or is certified by the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences.
A trainee license may be issued to an applicant who has fulfilled the requirements for licensure, but has not yet taken the examination, and is under the direct supervision of a licensed hearing aid dispenser. A trainee license expires six months from the date of issue and is non-renewable.
A minimum of 2.0 CEUs (20 hours) shall be obtained by dispensers in order to have the license renewed every two years. A minimum of two hours must be in Illinois law and ethics.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license but must comply with the law and rules of the Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Act.
Full time graduate students enrolled in a program of audiology in an accredited college or university may engage in the dispensing of hearing instruments as a part of an academic program of audiology without a license under the supervision of a licensed audiologist.
- 30 days from date of delivery
- 45 days for mail order sales
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Hearing aids may be sold by mail order or Internet sale if the organization is registered in the state, files detailed disclosure statements, indicates compliance with Federal Food and Drug Administration and Federal Trade Commission rules and employs only Illinois-licensed hearing instrument dispensers in the dispensing of hearing instruments.
Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Board
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.