Illinois Teacher Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists
The information below is collected from state regulatory agencies responsible for regulating school based speech-language pathologists and/or audiologists. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Audiologists in the public schools are contract employees and do not fall under specific teacher requirements of the State Department of Education. State licensure is typically required for practice in the schools.
Speech-Language Pathologist (non-teaching) Endorsement
- a master's degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution of higher education
- completion of a preparation program in the field of specialization
- internship or equivalent experience—150 hours of supervised, school-based professional experience
- coursework in cross-categorical methods of the exceptional child
- coursework in methods of reading and reading in the content area
- speech-language pathology license issued by the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation or a Certificate of Clinical Competency in Speech-Language Pathology
Individuals working in a position requiring a School Support Personnel endorsement for at least 50% of their time, and who do not also hold a license issued by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) must complete 120 hours of professional development each 5-year renewal cycle.
Licensees who are employed and performing services in public schools and hold an active and current professional license issued by IDFPR related to the endorsement area are deemed to have met the renewal requirements. No additional professional development hours are required.
For further information on laws and regulations for school based speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit these websites:
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.