Idaho Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be at least 21 years of age
- be of good moral character and temperate habits
- never have had a license revoked or otherwise sanctioned as part of disciplinary action from this or any other state
- never have been convicted, found guilty, or received a withheld judgment for any felony
- never have been found by the Speech and Hearing Services Licensure Board (Board) to have engaged in prohibited conduct, provided however, the Board may take into consideration the rehabilitation of the applicant and other mitigating circumstances when considering applications for licensure
- successfully graduated from an accredited high school or the equivalent
- successfully pass an examination approved by the Board
An applicant for licensure by endorsement must substantiate to the Board that the applicant holds a current, active, and unrestricted equivalent license in another state or United States territory.
The holder of a provisional permit may practice only while under the supervision of a person fully licensed hearing aid dispenser.
Every person holding an Idaho license must annually complete 10 contact hours of continuing education prior to license renewal.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Speech and Hearing Services Licensure Board consists of seven members appointed by the governor. The governor may consider recommendations for appointment to the Board from the Idaho Speech-Language Hearing Association, any Idaho association of hearing aid dealers and fitters, and any individual residing in this state. Three members of the Board must be speech-language pathologists, two members must be audiologists, one member must be a hearing aid dealer and fitter, and one member must be appointed from the public at-large. Each nonpublic member shall:
- have been a resident of the state of Idaho for no less than one year immediately preceding his or her appointment;
- have been engaged in rendering services to the public, teaching, or performing research in the field of audiology, speech-language pathology, or hearing aid dealing and fitting for a period of not less than five years preceding his or her appointment;
- be a currently practicing audiologist, speech-language pathologist, or hearing aid dealer and fitter; and
- at all times during such appointment to the Board, maintain a valid license in audiology, speech-language pathology, or hearing aid dealing and fitting.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and Internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Speech and Hearing Services Practice Act
Rules of the Speech and Hearing Services Licensure Board [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.