Iowa Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The information below is collected from state licensure boards or regulatory agencies responsible for regulating the professions of hearing aid dispensers. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
- Have passed a practical exam
- Be free of contagious or infectious disease
The Board may issue a license by endorsement to an applicant who has been licensed as a hearing aid specialist in another jurisdiction, so long as the applicant provides verification of licensure, verification of passing the exam and verification of continuing education.
A person who has not been licensed as a hearing aid specialist may obtain a temporary permit from the department upon completion of the application accompanied by the written verification of employment from a licensed hearing aid specialist. The department shall issue a temporary permit for one year which shall not be renewed or reissued.
Each biennium, each person who is licensed to practice as a hearing aid specialist in this state shall be required to complete a minimum of 32 hours of continuing education approved by the board. A minimum of 2 hours shall be in the content areas of Iowa hearing aid specialist law and rules, or ethics.
Audiologists who dispense hearing aids must obtain a hearing aid specialist license.
A hearing aid trial period is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing and internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers
For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, please visit this website:
Hearing Aid Dispenser Practice Act & Rules and Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.