Florida Hearing Screening Requirements for Newborns and School-Aged Children
The following information summarizes hearing screening programs for newborns and school-aged children.
This information has been collected by researching individual state statutes, regulations and policy documents, and by contacting each state. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.
Each licensed hospital or other state-licensed birthing facility that provides maternity and newborn care services shall provide that all newborns are, prior to discharge, screened for the detection of hearing loss, to prevent the consequences of unidentified disorders.
Each licensed birth center that provides maternity and newborn care services shall provide that all newborns are, prior to discharge, referred to a licensed audiologist, a physician, or a hospital or other newborn hearing screening provider, for screening for the detection of hearing loss, to prevent the consequences of unidentified disorders. The referral for appointment shall be made within 30 days after discharge. Written documentation of the referral must be placed in the newborn's medical chart.
Any child who is diagnosed as having a permanent hearing impairment shall be referred to the primary care physician for medical management, treatment, and follow-up services. Furthermore, any child from birth to 36 months of age who is diagnosed as having a hearing impairment that requires ongoing special hearing services must be referred to the Children's Medical Services Early Intervention Program serving the geographical area in which the child resides.
Standards and protocols are not addressed by laws/regulations.
Tracking and reporting are not addressed by laws/regulations.
Each county health department shall develop, jointly with the district school board and the local school health advisory committee, a school health services plan.
Hearing screening shall be provided, at a minimum, to students in kindergarten, grade 1, and grade 6; to students entering Florida schools for the first time in kindergarten through grade 5; and optionally to students in grade 3.
Who Can Screen
Who can screen is not addressed by laws/regulations.
Training for Screeners
Training for screeners is not addressed by laws/regulations.
Type of Testing
Types of testing are not addressed by laws/regulations.
Equipment standards are not addressed by laws/regulations.
Follow-up Protocols & Documentation
Follow-up protocols and documentation is not addressed by laws/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing screening requirements, visit these websites:
Newborn Screening Statute: Fla. Stat. Ann. §383.145
Guidelines for Infant Hearing Loss [PDF]
School-Age Screening Statute: Fla. Stat. Ann. §381.0056
School-Age Screening Regulations: Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r.64F-6 [PDF]
Questions regarding this document? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.