Florida Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- passed a written and practical exam
- be of good moral character
- be 18 years of age or older
- be a high school graduate or equivalent
- has met the requirements of a training program
- has a valid, current license as a hearing aid specialist or its equivalent from another state and has been actively practicing in such capacity for at least 12 months; or is currently certified by the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences and has been actively practicing for at least 12 months
- has submitted proof of completion of a two-hour course relating to Florida Laws and Rules taught by an instructor approved by the Board of Hearing Aid Specialists (Board) or its designee
- has submitted proof of completion of a two-hour course approved by the Board relating to the prevention of medical errors
Each hearing aid specialist must attend a total of 20 credit hours per biennium of Board-approved continuing education. The following must be included within the required 20 hours:
- two hours HIV/AIDS and other communicable illness (may take up to four hours)
- two hours relating to hearing aid laws and rules
- two hour course on preventing medical errors
Two hours of continuing education per year may be granted for attendance at a regularly scheduled Board meeting.
Audiologists may dispense under audiology license.
The Board of Hearing Aid Specialists consists of nine members to be appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. Five members of the Board must be hearing aid specialists who have been licensed and practicing in the state for at least the preceding four years. The remaining four members, none of whom shall derive economic benefit from the fitting or dispensing of hearing aids, must be appointed from the resident lay public of this state. One of the lay members must be a hearing aid user but may neither be nor have been a hearing aid specialist or a licensee of a closely related profession. One lay member must be an individual age 65 or over. One lay member must be a licensed otolaryngologist.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
It is unlawful for any person to sell or distribute hearing aids through the mail to the ultimate consumer.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Dispensing of Hearing Aids Law
Board of Hearing Aid Specialists Rules
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.