Connecticut Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- have a high school graduate or a high school equivalency examination
- have completed an approved education/training in hearing aid fitting and dispensing
- have passed a written, oral and practical examination
Whenever the Department of Public Health (Department) determines that another state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher than those established in Connecticut and that such state or jurisdiction has a program equivalent to or stricter than the program for determining whether applicants are qualified to fit or sell hearing aids, the Department may issue licenses, on payment of the license fee to applicants who hold current, unsuspended, and unrevoked certificates or licenses to fit and sell hearing aids in such other state or jurisdiction. No such applicants for licensure shall be required to submit to or undergo a qualifying examination. No license shall be issued without examination to any applicant against whom professional disciplinary action is pending or who is the subject of an unresolved complaint.
A temporary permittee may engage in hearing aid dispensing activities only under the supervision of a Connecticut-licensed hearing aid dealer. A temporary permittee shall apply for and take the licensure examination no later than 12 months following issuance of the temporary permit, and, if unsuccessful on such examination, shall take each subsequent licensure examination scheduled during the effective period of his temporary permit. A temporary permittee who fails to take an examination or who fails an examination shall, for a period of four weeks from the date of receipt of failing examination results by the temporary permittee or from the date of an examination not taken, engage in hearing aid dispensing activities only in the presence and under the training of a licensed hearing aid dealer.
Beginning October 1, 2014, a licensee applying for license renewal must earn not less than 16 hours of continuing education within the preceding 24-month period.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Department of Public Health makes final licensing decisions and takes disciplinary actions against people who violate licensing laws.
30 days from date of delivery
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order dispensing is not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Instrument Specialists Law
Hearing Aid Dealers Regulations [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.