Arizona Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- Be of good moral character
- Have a minimum of a high school diploma or a General Educational Development (GED)
- Has not had any condition that impairs the ability to dispense hearing aids safely within the past five years
- Has not had a license suspended or revoked in another state within the past two years
- Have passed a written and practical test
The Department of Health Services (Department) may determine whether the content of a hearing aid dispenser examination taken by the applicant in another state is substantially the same as the content of the Department's examination; the applicant's scores on the written and practical portions of a hearing aid dispenser examination taken by the applicant must meet the requirements for passing the Department's hearing aid dispenser examination; and the applicant must meet the requirements for a regular hearing aid dispenser license by reciprocity.
The Department may issue a temporary license to a person who has not taken the written and practical test, if the applicant also submits the name of and a signed document from a licensed hearing aid dispenser sponsor who agrees to train, supervise, and be responsible for the applicant's hearing aid dispenser practice. The sponsor must provide a minimum of 64 hours per month of onsite training and supervision. The Department shall allow one renewal of a temporary hearing aid dispenser license.
Each dispenser shall complete 12 units of continuing education within 12 months of the effective date of the regular license.
To fit and dispense hearing aids, licensed doctoral-degree audiologists must also pass an exam in jurisprudence and ethics within six months after initial hearing aid dispenser licensure and must not have had a license revoked or suspended by a state within the past two years. To fit and dispense with a master's degree in audiology (before December 31, 2007) one must seek a waiver for the education and clinical rotation requirements and pass an audiology exam unless already practicing audiology and can meet the exam waiver requirements. Individual must also pass the hearing aid dispenser's exam and not have had a licensed revoked/suspended by another state in the past two years.
The advisory committee members are appointed by the Director of the Department of Health Services and consist of the Director, two licensed physicians, one of whom is a specialist in otolaryngology, two licensed audiologists (one of whom dispenses hearing aids), two licensed speech-language pathologists, two public members (one of whom is hearing impaired), one member of the Arizona Commission for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing, and two licensed hearing aid dispensers who are not licensed to practice audiology. Committee members who are licensed shall have at least five years' experience immediately preceding the appointment in their field of practice in this state.
The examining committee members are appointed by the Director and consist of one otolaryngologist, two licensed dispensing audiologists, and two licensed hearing aid dispensers.
A hearing aid trial period is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Mail order dispensing is not addressed by law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit this website:
Licensing of Hearing Aid Dispensers
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.