American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Arkansas Support Personnel Requirements

The following information includes speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel requirements in educational and other practice settings. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that regulations and policy may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Speech-Language Pathology

School Setting Requirements

Speech-Language Pathology Aide

  1. Hold a minimum of a high school diploma/equivalent (GED)
  2. Demonstrate competency in oral and written communication skills
  3. Complete a minimum of forty (40) clock hours of inservice training during the initial year of employment pertaining to the duties of the SLP aide
  4. During subsequent years of employment, complete continuing education requirements of 12 clock hours annually pertaining to the designated duties of the SLP aide, 100% direct on-site, in view supervision is required for the first ten hours of direct student contact. At least 50% direct and indirect supervision is required and must be documented for the next 90 workdays. Indirect supervision is required no less than 20% of the actual student contact time.
  5. After the first year of employment, complete 12 clock hours annually of continuing education pertaining to designated duties.

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant

  1. Must have a bachelor's degree in speech-language pathology or complete a speech-language pathology assistant training program culminating in an associate degree from an institution accredited by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education.
  2. A total of at least 30% direct and indirect supervision is required and must be documented; after the initial 90 days, 20% minimum documented supervision is required of which 10% must be direct supervision.
  3. Complete 12 clock hours annually of continuing education pertaining to designated duties.
  4. Register with the Arkansas Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (ABESPA) except that those wishing to be employed in a public agency will register with the Arizona Department of Education.

Additional Information

Both aides and assistants must complete 60 semester credit hours, including a minimum of 100 clock hours of supervised fieldwork experience.

A licensed speech-language pathologist may only supervise two full-time or three part-time speech-language pathology assistants/aides; supervisors must have 2 years of full-time professional experience after the completion of the paid professional experience (CFY); Board of Education certificate holders prior to Aug. 1, 1997, are exempted; all professional liability for services remains the responsibility of the licensed SLP.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

  1. Bachelor's degree in speech pathology or
  2. An associate's degree from a speech-language pathology assistant training program
  3. A minimum of 100 clock hours of fieldwork experience supervised by a speech-language pathologist wih a current and valid license from ABESPA or the ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence in speech-language pathology
  4. An individual exempted from licensure under Arkansas statute and who holds a master's degree in speech-language pathology and a valid certificate/license issued by the Arkansas State Board of Education prior to August 1, 1997, shall not be required to procure ABESPA licensure in order to supervise speech-language pathology assistants and aides. Individuals who are issued initial speech-language pathology certification/licensure by the Arkansas State Board of Education after August 1, 1997, shall be required to hold ABESPA licensure in order to supervise speech-language pathology assistants and aides.
  5. A total of at least 30% direct and indirect supervision must be documented for the first ninety work days.

Audiology

School Setting Requirements

Audiology support personnel are not regulated in this setting.

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements

Audiology support personnel are not regulated by the state.

Resources

For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathology and audiology support personnel in educational and other practice settings, please visit these websites:

Guidelines for Speech-Language Pathology Assistants and Aides [PDF]

Governing Special Education and Related Services

Laws and Regulations for Speech Language Pathology Assistant and Aide

To see where your state stands on support personnel licensure trends, please view the trend charts which are updated periodically:

Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.

Share This Page

Print This Page