Arkansas Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- be 20 years of age or older
- has an education equivalent of two or more years of accredited college-level course work from a regionally accredited college or university
- be of good moral character
- have passed a written and practical test
- has met at least one of the following criteria:
- completed a one-year employment internship during which he or she was under the direct personal and physical supervision of a sponsor who has continuously held in good standing for a period of not less than three years either a valid Arkansas hearing instrument dispenser's license or a valid Arkansas audiology license;
- holds a National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences certificate;
- be registered as a hearing instrument dispenser in good standing in another state whose licensing requirements meet or exceed the licensing requirements of the state of Arkansas at the time of his or her application;
- be a graduate of an American Conference of Audioprosthology program; or
- holds an Associate of Applied Science degree in Hearing Healthcare Practitioner or a similar degree from a regionally accredited college or university.
One qualification that may be used for licensure is being registered as a hearing instrument dispenser in good standing in another state whose licensing requirements meets or exceed the licensing requirements of the state of Arkansas at the time of his or her application.
All applicants seeking renewal of their licenses must show proof of attending during the preceding year a minimum of 12 hours of Arkansas Board of Hearing Instrument Dispensers approved continuing education in the methods and techniques of testing for and fitting hearing instruments, including at least one hour of ethics.
Audiologists may dispense hearing aids under an audiology license but must comply with state regulations regarding medical clearance and consumer protection measures.
The Arkansas Board of Hearing Instrument Dispensers shall be composed of eight members appointed by the governor for terms of three years as follows: at least four of the members shall be licensed hearing instrument dispensers who have held a valid license for at least three years. The governor shall consider nominations from the Arkansas Hearing Society; at least one member shall be a physician licensed to practice medicine in Arkansas and specializing in otology or otolaryngology; at least one member shall be an audiologist holding a master's degree or doctoral degree in audiology from a recognized college or university; and two members shall not be actively engaged in or retired from the practice of dispensing hearing instruments. One member shall represent consumers, and one member shall be 60 years of age or older. Both members shall be appointed from the state at large, subject to confirmation by the Senate and shall be full voting members but shall not participate in the grading of examinations.
Trial period is not addressed by law/regulations.
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order and Internet sales are not addressed by law/regulations.
The information contained herein was collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit this website:
Hearing Instrument Dispensers Rules and Regulations [PDF]
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.