Alabama Licensing Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispensers
The profession of hearing aid dispenser is regulated at the state level and each state maintains its own standards for licensure or registration.
Initial Licensure Requirements
- Be a minimum of 19 years of age
- Be of good moral character
- Have a minimum of a high school diploma or a General Educational Development (GED)
- Be free of any contagious or infectious disease
- Be a citizen or have status as a legal alien
- Have passed a written and practical test
Licensing reciprocity is not addressed in the law/regulations.
An applicant who fulfills the requirements regarding age, character, education, and health may obtain an apprentice permit. The Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers shall issue an apprentice permit to engage in the fitting and sale of hearing instruments for a period of one year provided the apprentice has received 80 hours of academic and practical instruction under the direct supervision and immediate physical observation of the person holding a valid, current Alabama hearing instrument dispenser's license. An apprentice permit may be renewed for an additional year, provided that the permit holder has sat and failed the fitter's examination during the first initial permit period.
Each licensee must complete a minimum of eight hours of approved continuing education each calendar year.
Audiologists may dispense under an audiology license.
The Board of Hearing Instrument Dealers consists of eight members, five of which are licensed hearing instrument dealers with no less than three years of experience. The remaining members consist of one physician who specializes in diseases of the ear, one audiologist, and one consumer member. Members of the Board must be state residents and are appointed by the governor.
Facilities, Procedures and Instrumentation
- Any individual or business engaging in the business of fitting or selling hearing instruments must be equipped with proper physical facilities for conducting hearing tests and servicing hearing instruments.
- Proper equipment for servicing hearing instruments and testing must be maintained and must include audiometer, tubing, batteries, and impression material, and tools for servicing hearing instruments.
- The dispenser or dealer must maintain all instruments used to evaluate hearing difficulties within the tolerance and within the recommended calibration schedule in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions and the American National Standards Institute and American Standards Association specifications.
- The dispenser or dealer must maintain a written record of equipment calibrations including accommodations made to maintain correct tolerances.
A hearing aid trial period is not addressed in the law/regulations.
Mail Order/Internet Sales
Mail order and internet sales are not addressed in the law/regulations.
The information contained herein is collected and summarized annually. For detailed information on hearing aid dispenser requirements, contact the state board and visit these websites:
Hearing Instrument Dealers and Fitters Law
Hearing Instrument Dealers Regulations
Questions regarding state advocacy issues? Call ASHA at 800-498-2071 and ask for the State Advocacy Team.