2016 AuD Education Summit

The 2016 AuD Education Summit was held at the ASHA National Office on October 27–28, 2016. The purpose of the Summit was to discuss the challenges associated with the current model of clinical education, learn about alternative models from other doctoral professions, and identify strategies for improvement. Representatives from all AuD programs, as well as representatives from audiology professional associations and credentialing bodies participated.

Invited Speakers

Fred Bess, PhD
Director, National Center for Childhood Deafness and Family Communication Professor of Audiology, Vanderbilt University

William Boissonnault, PT, DPT, DHSc, FAAOMPT, FAPTA
Executive Vice President, Professional Affairs, American Physical Therapy Association

Donald Brady, MD
Director and Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Continuing Professional Development, Vanderbilt University

Susan C. Oleszewski, OD, MA, FAAO
Vice-President for Institutional Advancement and Community Relations, Pennsylvania College of Optometry  

Meeting Materials

Webcast Opportunity

To allow for greater inclusion, the Thursday, October 27, session of the Summit was also available via webcast. Fifty eight individuals registered for the webcast, including 16 groups, for an approximate total of 153 observers.

CEU Information*

This Summit is offered for 1.1 ASHA CEUs to invited attendees (Intermediate level, Related area).

APD CE - logo

ASHA is approved by the American Academy of Audiology to offer Academy CEUs for this activity. The program is worth a maximum of 1.0 CEUs. Academy approval of this continuing education activity is based on course content only and does not imply endorsement of course content, specific products, or clinical procedure, or adherence of the event to the Academy's Code of Ethics. Any views that are presented are those of the presenter/CE Provider and not necessarily of the American Academy of Audiology.


*Webcast observers are not eligible for ASHA or Academy CEUs.

Planning Committee

  • Ruth Bentler, Chair
  • Radhika Aravamudhan
  • Joan Besing
  • Craig Champlin
  • Robert Hanyak
  • Lisa Lucks Mendel
  • Michelle Menendez
  • Lisa Rickard
  • Anne Marie Tharpe
  • L. Maureen Valente
  • Barbara Cone, Vice President for Academic Affairs in Audiology
  • Neil DiSarno, ex officio
  • Loretta Nunez, staff consultant

Questions? E-mail [email protected].

ASHA Corporate Partners